“Love Song for my Organs”

dedicated today to all of us who are learning and re-learning self-care….

love song for my organs

(by ire’ne lara silva)

.

this is a song i didn’t know

needed singing needed singing

.

a song for each morning

a song for each night

.

offered with awareness

offered with gratitude

.

decades have passed i did not

know your colors your shapes

.

the work you do have done

or what you needed from me

.

now i know this song needs singing

i will sing it everywhere i go

.

i name you now breathe softly

upon you hold you tenderly within

.

kidneys

.

you are not forgotten never

you are cherished and i am grateful

.

i bring you rainwater and riverwater

i bring you flowers tiny blue flowers

.

i bring you these my two hands filled

with sun light with starlight

.

i sing you strong sing you whole

and thank you for filtering my blood

.

heart

.

be strong little heart as strong as you

have ever been you are my life

.

when i am still i hear your beating

feel it in my chest hold you close

.

in a dance that will not pause while

we are living i envision the flow of blood

.

flowing to you flowing from you moving easily

moving swiftly through wide open blood vessels

.

pancreas

.

you have been sleeping little warrior

it is time to wake time to speak again

.

i will bring you morning serenades

cascading flower petals and trilling birdsong

.

you fought the rising glucose hordes fought

until you were spent until you could not go on

.

years now i have lived on foreign insulin

always approximate subject to wild swings

.

of not enough too much almost in time

i long for your fine tuned calibration

.

i see you rising i hear you murmuring

words spoken at dawn i greet you

.

liver

.

lean i dream you lean see you lean and dark

brow furrowed ferociously inspired sculptor

.

ferociously creating ferociously shaping each

work of art as if it were the first time the only time

.

as if you were recreating the ocean the stars every minute

you are not a factory not an assembly line

.

i bring you milk thistle i bring you flax seed in thanks

you are re-creating my life your art is my life

.

nerves

.

you tell me stories without you there are no stories

without them i would know nothing understand nothing

.

of the world within or the world without

you are the carriers of lightning of moonlight

.

you tell me i am alive you tell me i am safe

because of you the exquisite the tender of my life

.

and also the pain and also the hurt the sharp the ache

but tell me stories i will always be listening

.

skin

.

hot breath tender touch running bare-fleshed in the rain

the warmth of the sun the chill of winter days the wind

.

my boundaries my beginnings my endings my whole

life the whole world written on my skin my skin sings

.

i will bring you gifts in thanks jojoba aloe avocado sweet

almond oil cocoa butter calendula shea butter and lanolin

.

eyes

.

for me everything begins with you I could spend days staring

at the sky day or night or morning or fog or thunderstorm

.

so much sweetness in looking at green leaves bright colors

loved faces blossoms rivers rainfall sunshine long roads

.

in my memories everything begins with what you’ve given me

i remember my life in a million images you brought me

.

and all the words of my life all the books of my life

for all the flames and the moonlight all my gratitude

.

gratitude

.

kidneys.…heart….pancreas….nerves

liver….skin….eyes….all my body

.

please forgive any harm

i have caused you

.

thank you for this day for

every day you have given me

.

now i know this song needs singing

i will sing it everywhere i go

.

i name you now breathe softly

upon you hold you tenderly within

2 thoughts on ““Love Song for my Organs””

Leave a Reply

